Love Poetic

“Dare not say that man forgets sooner than woman, that his love has an earlier death. I have loved none but you. Unjust I may have been, weak and resentful I have been, but never inconstant. You alone have brought me here. For you alone, I think and plan. Have you not seen this? Can you fail to have understood my wishes?”


—Taken from Persuasion, by Jane Austen; Captain Wentworth’s letter to Anne

This is what makes the classics, classic. No one writes or speaks like this anymore, and while some might be relieved to find this so, I find it to be a little less beautiful, a little less poetic.
One thought on “Love Poetic

  1. iheartfilm says:

    No one writes or speaks that way anymore because we don’t listen as intently as we used to.

    Chris

Leave a Reply

